What would happen if I looked?

I was watching Harry Potter some time ago and when I watch, I always get excited about the Quidditch matches (Quiddich is the game wizards and witches play where they fly on brooms)! I’m not sure if it is because I love sports. It probably is why, but I always get excited and wish the Quidditch scenes were much longer. I still remember to this day, I was watching the fourth movie, Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, for the first time. Near the beginning of the movie, I got so amped when I saw that they were going to watch a Quidditch World Cup game. It was about time they did this! I almost believed for a moment that the game could be real. So I’m watching and they creating this huge build-up to the game; introducing both teams like it was any other sporting final. I’m getting amped and then when they are about to start the game it skips the whole game and goes to them walking back to camp. I was like “come on J.K Rowling!” I was so bummed. I actually love the whole idea of Quidditch. I just want to explain how it works to everyone.

The game is played by two teams of seven people. It has three Chasers, two Beaters, one Keeper, and one Seeker and involves four balls – a Quaffle, two Bludgers, and of course, the Golden Snitch.

The Keeper protects the three goals, while the three Chasers score goals by throwing the Quaffle into one of the opposing team’s goals (this gives you 10 points). The two Beaters keep the Bludgers away from their team by hitting the Bludgers towards the other team, and the Seeker catches the Golden Snitch to end the game. The team whose Seeker catches the Snitch gets 150 points, but this does not necessarily mean they will win the game because the other team may still has more points after the Snitch is caught.

When I watched the movie I always wondered what would be the most fun, boring, hardest and easiest positions to play. I came up with this: The most fun would be the Beater. The most boring would also be the Beater. The easiest would probably be a Beater, the hardest would be the Seeker.

The one I want to focus on is the Seeker. It is the hardest. He has to look for a golden ball, no bigger than your palm and it flies all over the place. In the movie and book, they say the longest recorded game was 3 months, that is how hard it is. I don’t know if that’s because the Seekers sucked or that Golden Snitch was just too good.

They would seek, seek, and… you guessed it! Seek. So what SEEK means is – Attempt to find something, try to find, search for. They would have to look for something that was fast, small, and cheeky in nature.

You are probably wondering why am I reading about Harry Potter and Quidditch? What does this have to do with God? Well, good question. Keep reading.

I love what King Solomon wrote in Proverbs 3:6. He wrote: “Seek His will in all you do and He will show you which path to take.”

When I was reading this I noticed the word SEEK.  I decided to Google what it meant in depth. I came to know, something I already knew, that it was, in fact, a verb. Just as I suspected. I had to actually DO this thing called seeking.

Who used to play Hide n Seek? I used to hate Seeking. It meant I was all alone and I had the dreaded task of looking for everyone. I had to do all the work but if I was hiding, all I had to do was sit in one spot and chill. I used to choose such good hiding spots. I remember I chose such a good spot once, that the two friends I was playing with went inside and left me because they couldn’t find me. I stayed there for ages because I thought I was cool. Eventually, I came out of hiding because I wanted to play Playstation with them. Safe to say, I won.

While looking into this I’ve come to an obvious conclusion. To seek takes work. I know that’s not a word we like these days, but seeking takes work.

What I love is that Jesus finally puts into words, in Matthew 6:33, what Solomon said all that time ago – “Seek first the Kingdom of God, above all else, and live righteously, and He will give you everything you need.” I think what Jesus is saying is that we should put Him first in every area of our lives.

Well, how do I put Him first?

First, examine your values and priorities. Ask these questions:

  • What is important to you?
  • In what areas have you not acknowledged Him?

You may acknowledge God in many areas of your life already, but there are some areas where we restrict God from entering because we feel we know these areas better than God and want full control. Most often these areas are the ones we hold close to our hearts.

Starting with identifying where God isn’t being put first is a great start and go from there. Seek what God wants in that area specific area.

How do I know what He wants for me?

The same way you want to know what anybody wants for you.

  1. Get to know Him (prayer, reading the Bible)

If you don’t get to know somebody, you don’t know anything about them and their heart for you.

  1. Ask them what they want for you.

Pray and ask God what He wants for you and which path you should take in every area of your life. I don’t know about you but if Jesus loves us as much as He says, then I need to back Him that He wants the best path for me and give me what He thinks will be best for me.

Okay, seems easy enough.

So it seems easy enough to put God first, however, nowhere in these two verses does it say it is going to be easy to put Him first. I think that’s the problem many Christians have today. They think following Jesus is going to be easy. Ha. Think again.

IMG-20170525-WA0029

The fact that we have to actually seek isn’t going to be easy in itself because that takes effort and work. Something many of us dislike. Secondly, seeking becomes harder (when we eventually decide to do it) with everything going on around us. The likes of distractions and temptations are present in our lives daily and this prevents us seeking Jesus. Possibly things like social media, gossip, work, etc. I don’t know what they might look like for you (probably the first thing that popped into your head when you read this), but anything that takes your focus off Jesus.

Don’t stop SEEKING.

Seeking and following Jesus takes effort. When we seek God and what He wants for us, He will show us the best path to choose. You have to constantly be seeking what God wants for you. Yes, this will be hard because culture can often tell us what God wants for us is lame and not fulfilling. However, on the contrary, seeking God and what He wants for us is actually exciting and fulfilling. Yes, it will be hard, and that’s okay because if we continue to seek Jesus in every area of our lives, it will be fulfilling and worth it. Why? Because any good father wants the best for their child and that is what He wants for you. The best.

 

So the question is: Are you going to be like a Seeker and never give up seeking, weathering the harsh conditions, distractions,  and temptations? No matter how hard and long it may take? Or are you going to just stop when it gets too hard?

IMG-20170525-WA0030

 

 

Leave a Reply

